PERSONAL JESUS – DEPECHE MODE

The day has finally arrived – Depeche Mode in concert tonight! I am beyond ready to reach out and touch faith. My dad was a huge fan of the band in the 80s and it’s because of him that my sister and I know so many of their singles by heart. And did I mention he’s my wingman tonight? I think it’s pretty great. Both of us fell in love with Martin Gore, Andy Fletcher and Dave Gahan in our twenties (and just think… my dad still gets to enjoy them in his 50s!). This version of “Personal Jesus” from their 2009 tour is fantastic – love the way they strip the beginning down to a twangy guitar only to wind it back up with their famous echoing synth.

UPDATE: Pretty sure I cried for sheer happiness during the entire concert. Between Gahan’s stripper dance moves and Martin’s amazing guitar solos, I was in heaven.

Leave a Reply

