TONIGHT, TONIGHT – THE SMASHING PUMPKINS

I can remember being totally obsessed with this song when I was thirteen. It was the tail end of grade eight and I was on a graduation trip to Toronto. The reason I remember it so clearly is because I played “Tonight, Tonight” on repeat, softly singing along to Billy Corgan in my own little world while my classmates slept on the bus. My teenage self probably loved the angst and passion of these guys. (I thought the band had such a cool name too, The Smashing Pumpkins.) A decade later and I can still recall exactly how this song made me feel. It’s nice to be able to remember a moment in time so clearly through song. Music is there to articulate “the indescribable moments of your life.” It is an achingly, achingly beautiful process.

Leave a Reply

