THE HAZARDS OF LOVE 4 (THE DROWNED) – THE DECEMBERISTS

You know those songs that just grab you? I’m not a huge folk fan, but for some reason or another I have always loved this song by The Decemberists. (I’ve even grown to tolerate the steel guitar interlude, and trust me, that took some time.) “The Hazards of Love 4 (The Drowned)” has this uncanny ability of stopping me in my tracks and making me feel incredibly connected to long lost feelings. It’s like the Iron Curtain of my music library that descends and cuts me off from the world for a few minutes. The song already has an elaborate backstory steeped in folklore, but for me it’s always been about holding yourself accountable for the part you play (or played) when it comes to loving someone else. It’s about seeing yourself as half of the whole. It makes me feel sad, but sad is good every now and then. I know by the time I’ve hit the first chorus, my eyes will inevitably start to sting.

But I pulled you and I called you here
(Didn’t I? Didn’t I? Didn’t I?)
And I caught you and I brought you here
(Didn’t I? Didn’t I? Didn’t I?)
These hazards of love
Never more will trouble us

Leave a Reply

