ELEGIA – NEW ORDER

I was watching Pretty In Pink for the first time the other night and I had to Shazam a song midway through. For those of you who’ve seen the movie, you probably know the song I got stuck on. There’s 80s pop and then there’s 80s pop. “Elegia” plays at a really dramatic moment between the two main characters and the only thing I could think about was the haunting quality of the lone guitar line. Figures it’s New Order. But the song was so melancholy and mournful, I couldn’t help but think how could this be the same band that produced “Blue Monday” and “True Faith”? Turns out the song is an elegy to late band member Ian Curtis. Heavy stuff. I think it’s a really beautiful instrumental tribute.

Leave a Reply

