HE SAY SHE SAY – SHAD

If you want to dig a little deeper than Drake, Shad is another staple of Canada’s hip hop scene. In short, he’s one smart, bilingual, educated, socially conscious and extremely talented rapper. I’ve been on a bit of a chill hip hop binge lately, and “He Say She Say” was such a welcome addition to my music library (anybody hear a little Cool Calm Pete in that slow flow delivery or is that just me?). I mean, who else could reference Star Trek Klingon culture while jazz piano and a sumptuous trumpet play out in the background? Exactly. More than that, this single is really just an honest account of a relationship run its course. I love that it’s not sugar-coated or sickly sweet (“I wanted to do a verse about how we worked it out, but” he sings). Not everyone is a dime and not everyone is ready to get married. Relationships fail all the time…I just wished they sounded this good circling the drain!

Leave a Reply

