GLOWED UP (FEAT. ANDERSON .PAAK) – KAYTRANADA

I don’t know about glowed up, but I can tell you I’m fired up about Kaytranada’s debut album 99.9%. I even pre-ordered the thing on iTunes I was so excited…I mean, who even does that these days? It’s pretty much the only music I’ve listened to for the past three weeks and is easily my favourite release of 2016. For a few years now, I’ve kept a close eye on the Canadian producer and his stratospheric rise to fame. He’s only 23 and already he’s worked with everyone from Mobb Deep to Syd. If you listen to some of his interviews, he has some really interesting things to say about genre and his approach to music in general. He doesn’t like being pigeonholed by industry pundits as simply an “electronic” artist. He spans a number of styles including hip hop, jazz, instrumental, electronic, etc. “Glowed Up” is one of my favourites off the album—Anderson .Paak’s delivery, amirite! I highly recommend Kaytranada’s album if you’re looking for some fresh new beats. Oh, and did I mention I’m also seeing him in concert tonight in Montreal? 😀

Leave a Reply

