TREAT ME RIGHT – KEYS N KRATES

FULL DISCLOSURE: Keys ‘N Krates is quite possibly the best electronic music show I’ve ever seen. If you ever have the chance to see these guys, buy the tickets immediately. This Toronto trio came to my sleepy hometown of Ottawa (where we know a thing or two about [temperature] drrrrrrops) and proceeded to play the most incredible live show. I’ve seen a lot of DJs and producers over the years, but no one actually plays live like Adam Tune, David Matisse and Jr. Flo. For real, they’re known as the only “trap band” because they set up a whole drum kit, synthesizer and turntables on stage and play their sets as though they were a straight up garage band. The effect? It pretty close to the ineffable. I’ve included a link below to one of their studio rehearsals so you can get a sense of what I’m talking about. See how they play off each other? It’s electric! And add to the magic that these guys are Canadian and I honestly don’t think I can fangirl any harder.

Leave a comment